top of page

Day 11

Before my I started my internship junior year, Hillary, who was the volenteer coordinator at the time gave me an Outside the Lens shirt to wear at the school sites to look a little more official. My mentor made a remark in passing that I would have to wear the shirt every day, she was joking of course, but I didn’t really get the joke, so when my internship started I wore the same blue Outside the Lens shirt everyday of my internship. I found this kind of odd, because no one else in the office wore their OTL shirts every day, but at the same time I was a little scared to bring it up. When I finally did, the whole office thought it was really funny that I thought I had to wear the shirt every day. Looking back on it, if I would have just said something I could have avoided that.

This time, I haven’t really gotten into that situation, because one of the most important components of self-advocacy is communication. I’m glad my externship site is fairly relaxed, because this makes open communication really easy. I also feel like since this is my second time at this site, most of the people here know my strengths pretty well (photo editing, graphic design, Adobe Illustrator help) so most of the projects sent my way are things I’m pretty capable of helping with.


ARCHIVE

HTHI EXTERNSHIP BLOG

​

Francisco García

​

​

bottom of page